Birds on Ice…

A day without power after eight inches of snow followed by a few hours of freezing rain hardening all the heavy snow. Then a few hours more of snow followed. Now they are telling us to prepare for the wind and floods. I think the only items missing on their list are a heat wave and the ten plagues.

Ice Covered Car

With the Blackberry dead it was time to continue practicing my photography on the birds that would visit my little forest area. Sitting under one of the large cedar trees in my yard was not in the cards this time. All the trees were bowing to the ground under the weight of the ice. Oh, I could have sat in the usual spot. I would have been hidden so well that I would not have seen the birds. But the birds did not mind my sitting in the open as the food was plenty and they were madly dancing around the feeders. I had to twice scrap off the feeders just so the birds could get to the seeds.

Ice Covered Tree

Golden-Crowned Sparrow

Male Downy Woodpecker

Black-Capped Chickadee

Female Red-Shafted Northern Flicker

Female Anna's Hummingbird

Female Varied Thrush

Then came visitors we usually do not see until the spring. I guess they did get the message for a warming trend. I do not think the news meant spring though.

Male Evening Grosbeak

3 responses to “Birds on Ice…

Leave a Reply

